pewag racing team store

Walter Haslwanter

Date of birth:


Favorite discipline:


Favorite race:

The Cross Triathlon Innsbruck


Marc Diechtler

How did you come to triathlon and what sporting past do you have?

About 10 years ago I took part in an X-Terra Volkstriathlon in Klosterneuburg. Ever since that race, I’ve tasted blood and devoted myself to the sport. When I was a child, I played soccer and did taekwondo. I got into endurance sports during my military service when I started running.

What do you particularly like about the sport?

The training and the versatility.

Which result are you particularly proud of?

To the second half-distance World Championship qualification in Bahrain 2018 and the Ironman Austria 2016

What do you do besides sport (job, family, ..)?

My two children (Ida 5 and Luise 3) and my wife Agnes are the focus of my life. I earn my money as a career officer. I work as a lawyer and legal adviser for the army. In the spare time I have between family, work, and sport, I like to spend time mountaineering.

How do you manage to balance family, work and sport?

My day starts at 05:30 and is planned until the evening. Training usually starts at 6 a.m. in the morning with one unit. After work, before driving home, there is a second training session if necessary. At home, I try to devote myself entirely to the family. Without the support of my wife and those around me, it would not have been possible to practice the sport to this extent (at least 15 hours of training per week).

Describe yourself in 4 words?

Purposeful, organized, reliable, communicative.

Your life motto?

Start realizing your goals immediately and don’t delay.

Shopping cart close